Event Report: Model United Nations Conference

Pre event: Orientation Sessions

The orientation session, "Unveiling the Art of Diplomacy – An Intro to the World of Model United Nations (MUN)," was held on 25th January 2025 from 7 PM to 8 PM on Google Meet. Conducted by Yohan John, a final-year law student from Mar Gregorios College of Law, the session provided 65 participants with a comprehensive introduction to MUN.

Additionally, Soheth A Robin of University College, Trivandrum, took an ROP session for the participants of the MUN on the 30th of January. It was an online meeting attended by all the participants.

The event commenced at 9:30 AM on Saturday, February 1st, at Pascal Hall, in the esteemed presence of faculty coordinators—Dr. Veena Nair, Dr. Archana P. Das, and Mr. Vinu Varghese. A total of 37 participants, representing two committees—the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) and the International Press (IP)—were in attendance for the first day's proceedings. The Executive Board members overseeing the sessions included Chairperson Soheth A. Robin (University College, Trivandrum), Vice Chairperson Abhav R. Nair (S4 EL), Director Yash Chhalotre (S6 EL), Ashlin Anil Antony (S6 EC) as Head of Photojournalism, and Elvis Mathews Olickal (S4 EL) as Head of Journalism.

After an introductory speech about the club and the Intra MUN by the Secretary General, Vaishnav D Prabhath (S6 EC), the committee sessions proceeded as scheduled, facilitating indepth discussions and deliberations among the delegates. The formal sessions for the day concluded at 4:30 PM, following which refreshments were served. Subsequently, the organizing team arranged cultural performances. Delegates dispersed by 6:00 PM.

The second day of the event saw the participation of 34 delegates. The sessions commenced at 9:30 AM, maintaining the structured agenda. A press conference, conducted by the journalists of the International Press, was held at 12:00 PM and concluded by 12:45 PM, followed by lunch. The committees formally concluded their deliberations at 2:30 PM. Post this, which the Executive Board convened outside the hall to finalize their evaluations and marksheets. During this period, the Secretary-General and other organizing members collected feedback from the delegates. The responses were overwhelmingly positive, with many participants expressing enthusiasm for future conferences organized by the institution.

The event concluded with the award ceremony at 3:30 PM, where outstanding delegates were recognized for their exceptional performance across both committees.

Award Recipients

United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) Committee: Best Delegate: Jithin Rajesh (S4 EL) High Commendation: Adil Mohammed S (S2 EC2) Special Mention: Neil Philip (S4 EL) Special Mention: Prathyusha Nair (S4 EL) Honourable Mention: Bevis Mathew (S4 CS1) Honourable Mention: Aaron S. Varghese (S2 EC2)

International Press - Journalism and Photojournalism (IP) Committee: Best Photojournalist: Albin Anil Antony (S2 EL) Best Journalist: Anagha Asok Kumar (S4 CS1)